Mr. Okra: Puts a Warm Fuzzy Deep in Your Heart

Mr. Okra: Puts a Warm Fuzzy Deep in Your Heart

I have oranges and banana . . .
I have apples, I have cantaloupe . . . .
I have pineapples, I have strawberries . . .
I have blueberries . . .
I have the mango and the tango.

Mr. Okra is a warmly touching, award-winning documentary short film by T.G. Herrington, an Official Selection of the Sundance Film Festival.  Mr. Okra won the Documentary Short Audience Award at the 2009 Austin Film Festival and the Peroni Italy Audience Choice Award at the Third Annual NYC Food Film Festival 2009.  The film is an intimate look at one of New Orleans’ most colorful characters: the charismatic vegetable salesman “Mr. Okra,” who provides a glimpse into the soul of an American city.

Arthur J. Robinson (a.k.a. “Mr. Okra”) is a simple man in a complicated world.  Mr. Okra stands as a stark contrast to the high technology and shiny produce markets of the modern world.  His is a different world, a world steeped in tradition, complicated by its diversity, but simple in its truth.  Beyond the clichés of Bourbon Street, amid the decadence and decay of one of America’s most unique cities, Mr. Okra is a character from another time.  His is an analog world, in a digital age.

Mr. Okra: Puts a Warm Fuzzy Deep in Your Heart

Please Share This:

Share

