Scenes From the Suburbs: Navigating an Oppressive Dystopia

Scenes From the Suburbs: Navigating an Oppressive Dystopia

I wish I could remember every little moment,
But I can’t/ Why do I only remember the moments that I do,
I wonder what happens to the others.

Scenes From the Suburbs is a 30-minute short film directed by Spike Jonze, a companion piece to Arcade Fire’s Grammy-winning third album, The Suburbs.  The movie premiered this year at Germany’s Berlinale Festival and was screened the SXSW Film Festival in Austin.

The film is a meditation on life, a remembrance of things past by a group of friends who spent a languid summer together in an unnamed town that was taken over by the army. Back then, a summer, so long ago. They couldn’t leave town, because outside the country was at war, and the military controlled life and all the  gateways. The teenagers wandered aimlessly about town. Winter was a long way off, and love and longing and friendship still meant everything.

Scenes From the Suburbs: Navigating an Oppressive Dystopia

Please Share This:

Share

