Randy Pausch Visits Oprah: A Lecture on Living

Update: Please read my eulogy of Professor Randy Pausch, which includes additional photographs, videos and an extensive photo-gallery here.

Randy Pausch Visits Oprah Winfrey: A Lecture on Living

Randy Pausch didn’t want his last lecture at Carnegie Mellon University to be about dying, but he is, sadly, dying of pancreatic cancer.   He knows it’s a painful way to go.  When he gave his final lecture last month, he wanted to demonstrate that his focus remains, as always, on living, or on living in the process of dying.  Today, he appeared on The Oprah Winfrey Show, and this is what he had to say:

Randy Pausch Visits Oprah Winfrey: No Self-Pity

When there’s an elephant in the room introduce him.”

Randy Pausch Visits Oprah Winfrey: No Self-Pity

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please Share This:

Share

16 Responses to “Randy Pausch Visits Oprah: A Lecture on Living”

  1. ginny Says:

    This lecture has really changed my life and helped me view my health problems from a new perspective. If you really want to see a short few minute lecture that will change your life no matter what your circumstances, please watch the video!! You won’t be sorry. Thank you Randy and I hope that you live longer and better than the doctor’s ever imagined. I know you will be met with angels up in heaven.

  2. mindwellness Says:

    Some lessons from Randy Pausch’s last lecture that especially moved me:

    1. Brick walls are there for a reason: they let us prove how badly we want things.
    2. Experience is what you get when you didn’t get what you wanted.
    3. Never lose the child-like wonder.
    4. If we do something which is pioneering, we will get arrows in the back. But at the end of the day, a whole lot of people will have a whole lot of fun.
    5. Be good at something; it makes you valuable.
    6. If you live your life the right way, the karma will take care of itself, and the dreams will come to you.

  3. Grenardo Avellino Says:

    My daughter saw this as part of her Church Sunday Lesson, she wanted me to see this – I did the next day.

    Don’t wait like I did – a must see. May Randy live as long as possible to continue reaching all those who need to see and hear this message! I know I needed to hear it! Thanks, suddenly my challenges today are nothing…

  4. Hank Williams Says:

    A few days I contacted you about obtaining a CD or DVD
    on Randy Pausch’s last lecture. Pls respond and let me know how I may do this.

    Hank Williams

  5. disembedded Says:

    Hi Hank,

    I just finished sending you an email, describing how you can download it. Thanks for the reminder!

    Best wishes to you.

  6. taragilligan Says:

    I need the video of Randy on Oprah. How do I get this?

  7. disembedded Says:

    Hi Tara Gilligan,

    You can find the video at Google video:

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8577255250907450469

    You can download a copy of the Google video from there to your own computer.

    Best wishes to you!

  8. Debbie Koenig Says:

    My husband was diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer in May 06. At only 54 years old he passed away on June 22, 2007. Thank you Randy for telling your story.

  9. catherine Says:

    I hate that he is so right…
    Why live life down and dark what do you get out of it??? This some how made me realise how my mother survived breast cancer a few years ago. She never let it get to her, she didn’t let it beat her. My uncle who passed away 2 years ago to cancer also never let it beat him, even in his last minutes still cracking a joke ‘playing dead’ not too amusing at the time and he did slip away within that hour… This has just opened my eyes to life and i believe it will change. No one knows its their time till its to late. I will take his advise and live life to the full, love more, care more, and most of all be happy more…
    THANKYOU!!!
    Catherine
    from Australia

  10. How to Achieve Your Childhood Dreams at StartUpPrincess.com Says:

    […] visiting!Today’s Magic Wand: Fairy Godmother Cherie Burton, just sent this video clip from Oprah featuring a man named Randy Pausch who is dying of pancreatic cancer, he was a professor at Carnegie Mellon University and gave an […]

  11. Myra Morgan Says:

    This is really an inspiring speech about how to live your life.
    No one knows the exact day they will die. This speech has helped me in my everyday life. I had polio in 1945 and I am in a wheelchair, somedays I get discouraged but I think this speech will help me in so many ways. I wish you the best Randy and I hope you know how many lives you have touched. You have made my days brighter by just hearing your thoughts on life and your courage. May God Bless you.

  12. Reflections of a Rare Bird « Et Cetera: Publick and Privat Curiosities Says:

    […] Intermittently, I’ve modified my usually eclectic approach in order to devote specific posts to a particular psychological, analytic or relational topic. During the past few months, much has been written about Professor Randy Pausch’s last lecture at Carnegie-Mellon University, his now well-known Final Lecture: Living in the Process of Dying, details about and videos of which can be viewed here and here. […]

  13. Pacreatic cancer research Says:

    I lost my mom to pancreatic cancer. My prayers are with everyone to has suffered from this disease. There needs to be more research for this cause!

  14. Tulip Says:

    How is he now? I just saw this show this week.

    Tulip
    Jerusalem

  15. disembedded Says:

    Still doing okay, as far as I know.

  16. Steve Says:

    Sadly, Randy Pausch had died on July 25th 2008.


Comments are closed.